The Light and Shadow Chronicles

an epic fantasy series by D.M. Cain

This series features world-building on a grand scale, to provide the reader with an immersive fantasy experience.

Why are the Light and Shadow Chronicles unique?

My immersive fantasy novels A Chronicle of Chaos and The Shield of Soren (and novellas Genesis of Light and Origin of Shadow) are part of a series called The Light and Shadow Chronicles. This series features warriors, epic battles, angels, demons, magic and people with incredible powers.

So what makes it different from countless other fantasy series? Read on to find out…

The world of the Light and Shadow Chronicles is in eternal turmoil. Alcherys and Meraxor have been at war for thousands of years, trapped in a stalemate and manipulated by mysterious powers. In order to emerge victorious, each army must recruit forces to fight for them—angels, demons, armies of the underworld and magical creatures.

Each of the books in the series focuses on a significant character and their role within the eternal war. Every story lays a building block for the epic finale but the books are written out of order. One story may feature a character in his adulthood, the next is set before he is born, the next after his death. Putting the order of events together is up to the reader.

The reader may choose their own journey through the saga. If they feel connected to a certain character, they can follow that individual’s story first. And if they join the series after book 5 is released, there is no need to read books one through four first.

So the series truly is individual, and a reader may navigate it as they see fit. With new books being released all the time, the choice is up to you. Catch up on A Chronicle of Chaos, Genesis of Light or The Shield of Soren first or read them afterwards. It will make no difference to the understanding of the series as a whole.

And if you fall in love with this immersive series, you won’t have long to wait – more stories are on their way!

The next full-length novels, The Sins of Silas and The Ballad of Benedict will be coming in 2020.

Find out more about each book here:

A Chronicle of Chaos

DM Cain - A Chronicle of Chaos review quote gif

The Shield of Soren

DM Cain - The Shield of Soren review quote gif

Genesis of Light

fantasy novella review gif

Origin of Shadow

fantasy novella review gif


Wondering What The Shield On My Book Covers Means? Find Out!

Buy A Chronicle of Chaos on Amazon

Buy The Shield of Soren on Amazon

Buy Genesis of Light on Amazon